Play. And….shameless advertising.

I’m taking this course with Castle. I have long known that I need to move towards using more non-food play and less treats when training. Looking ahead to next year, and thinking about competing in agility with Castle made this jump to the forefront of all the various things I want/need to work on. Then Denise Fenzi announced that she was running a course all about how to play with your dog in a fun, rewarding manner for both of you. I nabbed a working spot… we just completed our Week 1 homework and I’m looking forward to Denise’s feedback on our videos (gulp!).

Denise Fenzi

On and off I’ve talked about play on this blog.  Maybe more on than off.

I happen to find the topic completely fascinating – You and your dog; interacting in a manner that is interactive, rewarding and joyful.  Maybe using toys or food but often with nothing at all.   How can a dog person not be fascinated?

Indeed, so fascinating that Deb Jones and I ended up writing a book about it, titled “Dog Sport Skills:  Building Relationship Through Play”.

That’s the good news; a book is in the pipeline.  The bad news is that it isn’t likely to be ready for awhile, as it is the second book in the series.  While written, we’d like to publish the first book….first.  Hopefully you’re waiting on pins and needles.

So…what’s a person to do while waiting?

Well, step in Tracy Skenlar from Agility University, who has asked me to teach…

View original post 310 more words

Leave a Reply

